Sunday, February 27, 2011

Minigolf Report - Scrap Iron Cup 6 - Hither Green

Sixth Scrap Iron Cup Minigolf Competition - Results and Report

Seth ‘Clockwork Orange’ Thomas became a two-time Scrap Iron Cup Minigolf Champion as he defeated Dudley’s Owen ‘Jackpot’ Johnson, himself a former Scrap Iron Cup Champion, in the final of the sixth Scrap Iron Cup minigolf tournament in Hither Green, Lewisham on Saturday 26th February.

In the three-player field Paul ‘Rango’ Johnson was the bronze medallist.

Scrap Iron Cup
The Green Indoor Mini Golf, Hither Green

Round One - Strokeplay
Rank Player Score
1. Seth Thomas - 42
2. Owen Johnson - 54
3. Paul Johnson - 58

Round Two – Matchplay

Seth Thomas vs. Owen Johnson

Result - Seth Thomas wins

Scrap Iron Cup - Hall of Fame
2011 - #6 - Seth Thomas beat Owen Johnson - Hither Green
2011 - #5 - Seth Thomas beat Richard Gottfried - Bristol
2011 - #4 - Richard Gottfried beat Cindy Kukielka - Birmingham
2010 - #3 - Owen Johnson beat Richard Gottfried - Birmingham
2010 - #2 - Richard Gottfried beat Paul Johnson - Weymouth
2010 - #1 - Richard Gottfried beat Paul Johnson - Sandbanks

Rules of the Scrap Iron Cup
• Played between members of the Midlands Minigolf Club
• Played in either groups of two, or one group, in round one
• Groups are drawn at random (often using the 'balls in a hat' technique)
• Round one is a strokeplay match played over 7, 9, 11, 12 or 18 holes
• The two players with the top scores after round one qualify for the second round/final
• Round two is a matchplay match played over 7, 9, 12 or 18 holes
• The winner of the matchplay match becomes the Scrap Iron Cup* Champion**

* The Scrap Iron Cup (aka the 'NABBA ENGLAND 95 CLASS TWO WINNER' Trophy) remains the property of Owen and Paul Johnson
** The Reigning Scrap Iron Champion retains the cup until the next defence whereupon it is given up until the next Scrap Iron Cup tournament has been completed

No comments: