As today - 16 September - is National Play-Doh Day it's worth noting that Play-Doh is not gluten free as it contains dreaded Wheat!
The mind boggles!
Obviously Play-Doh is NOT a food product and is NOT meant to be eaten, but there are cross-contamination risks if Coeliacs touch/use/play with Play-Doh.
|A big barrel of Play-Doh. This was as close as I dared get to it|
Hasbro, the manufacturers of Play-Doh in the UK, have helpfully put together a warning on the product packaging and also on the Ingredients section of the Play-Doh FAQ & Tips website. Although rather than mentioning the autoimmune reaction - or gluten intolerance - it say that an 'allergic' reaction may occur with use of the product.
The Coeliac UK website has some further information on play dough products and even has a recipe for making your own Gluten-free play dough.
- Funny things about being a Coeliac #7 - Disappearing flight attendants!
- Funny things about being a Coeliac #8 - Being scared of bread!
- Funny things about being a Coeliac #9 - Menu disclaimers